Random Musings – June 27, 2010

This isn’t anything that will be done on a regular basis, just whenever I feel like posting some random stuff. Think of it like Twitter, but without being anything like Twitter🙂

– I’m fairly certain that Rush might be the greatest band in the history of music. I’ve been listening to a lot of their stuff lately and I can’t get over just how good their songs are. Every song has so much put into it, its amazing. I’ve always been a fan of theirs, but I haven’t listened to a great deal of their music until recently. Now, this blog may be about idols and their music, for the most part, but I will always prefer bands like Rush over idol music. Groups like AKB48 or Morningh Musume could never compare to a band such as Rush. I think for me, its the thought that there’s just so much more…imagination when it comes to some Western bands. Lets face it, about 90% of idol songs are about love and relationships, regardless of how hypocritical it is for them to sing about stuff like that. I’d love to see an idol group do a song like Rush’s 2112, with its epic scope and sci-fi theme. I’m probably not expressing this as well as I would like to be, but sometimes things are just hard to put properly into words.

– the new Transformers game, War for Cybertron, is without a doubt the Transformers game that we fans have been waiting for. Probably the reason its so great, aside from the addictive gameplay, great graphics, classic characters, etc, is the fact that it has the advantage of not being tied down by ANY of the previous Transformers incarnations. While this is the classic story of the Transformers on Cybertron, its still new in many ways. I’m loving every minute of this game. Its also nice that the game, even on the medium difficulty, has a fair degree of challenge to it. I don’t know how many times I’ve died over the course of the campaign.

– Speaking of Transformers WFC, if you are looking for a review of it online, I’d suggest not even bothering to read Gamespot’s sorry excuse for a review. Why? Well, they gave it a 6.5/10. Normally, I wouldn’t make such a big stink over something like this, but their pretty much the only ones to give it such a low review. IGN gave the game a 9, Kotaku gave it a damn good review (they don’t use a number grade), and pretty much all the user reviews over at Gamespot (and their is a sizable number of them already) are 8.5 and above. All the GS user reviews also seem to question why the Gamespot guys scored the game as they did. It makes you wonder if were all playing a completely different game than they are🙂

Leave a Reply

