World of Warcraft Patch 3.3, Fall of the Lich king, is live!

Huh, guess it did come out today. Not THAT surprising, but still…

I love how so many people were adamant about it not being released until later this month, or even going into next month. But if there’s one thing I’ve learned over the last few months, its to trust what Boubouille over at MMO Champion says. He said it would go live this week…and lo and behold…its gone live. Hell, this is the guy that practically called everything about Cataclysm, so he knows what he’s talking about.

Though I figured out on my own that the patch would be released this week, or at least before next Tuesday. Why? Well, its quite simple, yet no one seemed to notice. One change made in this patch is the removal of one achievement from the Winter Veil meta achievement. Now, Winter Veil starts next Tuesday. Put two and two together, and they pretty much confirmed the patch coming out this week with that one update.

So for me, I have a few things I’m defenitly going to get started on when the servers come back on (I hate that; Its like “Here’s the new patch with all its new shiny things…..but you can’t play it yet!” What a teaseđŸ˜¦ ) The first thing is to mail some of my heirloom items from my Horde Death Knight over to my Alliance Paladin, for when Cataclysm comes out (for my future Worgen Warrior). The next thing will be to try and get into the new 5 man dungeons and hope to dear god that the battered hilt drops and I win it. Why is this item so important? Because it starts the quest to obtain Quel’Delar, a powerful High-Elf sword. The quest involves doing a bit of running around, then going through all 3 sections of the new 5-man dungeon in order to reforge the sword, then finally giving the sword a good dip in the Sunwell in order to purify it. When its all said and done, you take the blade back to your respective faction (Sunreavers for the horde, Silver Covenant for the Alliance) and you are given your choice of either 4 variations of Quel’Delar, or one of 3 maces (if you can’t use swords):

Swords:

Quel’Delar, Might of the Faithful
Quel’Delar, Ferocity of the Scorned
Quel’Delar, Cunning of the Shadows
Quel’Delar, Lens of the Mind
Maces:
Cudgel of Furious Justice
Hammer of Purified Flame
Lightborn Spire

I myself will likely go for Might of the Faithful. That should suit my Death Knight the best.

The other major thing I’ll be doing is continuing to run heroics, which now graciously drop Triumph Emblems, so I can finish my Tier 9 armor set, which will then prepare me for the Icecrown Citadel raid. Also, the first random dungeon you do a day will award you with 2 emblems of Frost (the new high grade emblem) so I’ll also start saving up for my Tier 10 armor, and considering the prices for Tier 10 armor, I’ll be saving up emblems for awhile to come.

I am stoked to finally get playing, so hopefully when I’m done my University classes today the servers will be back up and running.

Leave a Reply

