My new K-Pop Addiction – T-ara

Those that know me (or have at least read my previous posts) will know I have a great love for K-Pop, though that interest is primarily in the many girl groups, which seem to be the hottest commodity in the Korean music industry as late. That’s perfectly fine by me, seeing as they have been putting out some excellent work the last while.

The last year or so has seen an influx of new girl groups enter the scene,and I’ll be honest, its been a bit overwhelming for me. Prior to this influx, my two top favorites were SNSD and Kara, and even now they still are. However, with the introduction of new groups such as 2NE1 and 4Minute, I was bound to like one of them, and I found that group; the highly hyped and anticipated 6 member girl group T-ara.

000tvdailygroup1

T-ara (normally said as Tiara) debuted on July 29. As I mentioned earlier, this group had a lot of hype go into their debut. Before their debut last month, the group had been in the works for at least 3 years prior, so there was a large amount of anticipation and expectation to be had.

And as far as I am concerned, they lived up to any hype and they sure men my expectations.  I was addicted to their debut songs after only one listen.

T-ara does have an interesting history though, especially in the months leading up to their debut. As of now, the group consists of 6 members (from left to right in the above picture); Boram, Qri, Jiyeon, Soyeon, Hyomin, Eunjeong (the group leaders). However, this was not always the lineup. Prior to June of this year, the group only consisted of 5 members; Eunjeong, Jiyeon, Hyomin and 2 other members, Jiwon and then leader Jiae. However, in June, only a scant 2 months before the groups official debut, Jiae and Jiwon quite the group, and Boram, Qri and Soyeon were added to form the group we have today. It does make you wonder though, what would the group be like if Jiae and Jiwon hadn’t left. From what I understand, their reasons for leaving is that they didn’t like the way the group was going musically. Kinda harsh to say when they hadn’t even debuted yet. Who knows, even if they didn’t like their debut music, maybe something down the road might have been their thing.

I figure I should get one thing out of the way though.One thing that’s hard not to notice is Hyomin. She is seriously the spitting image of SNSD’s Jessica. No, a clone is more like it. She defenitly has her own charms though, but still, the similarities are striking ( and I also think Jiyeon looks somewhat like AKB48’s Tomomi Kasai, though I’m sure Jiyeon is FAR more talented)

Now on to the music itself. T-ara debuted with tie digital single, Lies. The single itself contains 3 different versions of Lies (2 somewhat differently arranged versions and the ballad version) and the song Wanna Play?. You can check out the songs here:

Lies MV:

Lies (Ballad ver.)

Wanna Play?:

I wasn’t able to find a link to the 2nd version of Lies, but in all honesty, I found both versions much too similar to like one over the other, but that might just be me. Defenitly give both a listen to find out which one you like  more.

So far, this group has given me a lot to like, and I will defenitly be looking out for future releases from them. If korean girl groups are your kind of thing, then defenitly give T-ara a chance.

One thought on “My new K-Pop Addiction – T-ara

Leave a Reply

