Things Change

When I started this blog all that time ago, my fandom for AKB48 was likely at its highest point. At that time, I had been a fan for about a year or so I believe, and really, I felt like that I would be a huge fan for as long as the group was around.

Oh, how things change.

I now find myself and a point where, to put it bluntly, I just don’t give a frak about AKB48 anymore. Why you ask? Well, its a myriad of reasons really.

First up is the fact that the groups management seem unwilling to change whatsoever. The PV for the most recent single, Namida Suprise, was released recently, and while I haven’t watched it (and have no plans to whatsoever), I have seen some screens of it and read what fans have had to say about it. Its the same as every other AKB PV over the last little while, in that it focuses pretty much entirely on Maeda Atsuko, and is just plain uninteresting overall. This is one reason why I can no longer stand being a fan of AKB48, and its this constant need to feather Maeda in frakking EVERYTHING. Seriously, if this is the way every future PV is going to be, than that shows a complete unwillingness to change or even have some frakking variety in their group. Whats the point of having around 48 girls if your only ever going to prominently feature 1 of them? Its bullshit, thats what it is. And its not fair to the fans of other members as well. Also, I will never understand whats so damn interesting about Maeda Atusko. She’s not the best singer, she has a negative stage presence (not one where she stands out because of her abilities, but where she stands out because she always looks so fake and uninterested on stage) and its just not fair that those with far more talent that she is always pushed to the front while they are pushed far into the back. But it comes back to the whole variety thing. AKB48 would be a whole lot more interesting if they just focused on more girls, or switched it up for every PV or something. I don’t know, and I don’t care. All I know is that until this changes, it doesn’t matter if they sell massive amounts of CD’s or whatever, I won’t be coming back.

This also brings me to my second point; AKB48’s merchandising. Just a little while before I became a fan, pretty much everything AKb had to offer was released as normally as it should have been. You could buy their singles and DVD’s on the internet or in stores in Japan, just as you would expect. After the release of the H1 DVD, things changed for the worst. Now, the only thing AKb related you can buy regularily are their singles. The DVD’s are now really only released at the theater itself. Thats just bad marketing if you ask me. Now, only those who actually go to the theater can buy the DVD’s. It’s Not fair to those of us not in Japan, or even those in Japan who may not be able to get to the theater on a regular basis. The other thing that irks me is the fact that it now seems we’ll never get proper audio CD releases of AKB’s stages. Awhile back, they released the CD’s for Team A and K’s first 3 stages, and thats all we’ve gotten so far. Between then and now, we’ve gotten A4 and A5, K4 and K5, and B3 and B4, along with H1 and H2. So where the frak are the audio CD’s for these stages? Hell if I know. All I do know is, I don’t think they are ever going to be released.

The final reason would be that I am simply not liking much of their music much anymore. I just find their music lacking a certain something nowadays. Its just all getting kind of bland. I think I realized this after the dissapointment that was K5.

And don’t get me started on SKE48 or any of the other groups they may form int he future. They are a waste of time, and are getting WAY to much attention. I also don’t care for SKE invading AKb singles. Its about time they get their own so we don’t have to see that annoying little Jurina Matsui freaking everywhere AKB48 is. Seriously, I can’t stand her.

So that pretty much sums it up. As far as I am concerned, AKB48 is dead to me. Unless they come out with something that is just utterly fantastic, or they ditch Team’s A and K and just use Team B for everything, then I am officially done with them.

This does not mean the end of this blog though. Not by a longshot. I recent;y rekindled my love for the various Hello Project groups, especially Morning Musume. Their recent stuff has absolutely blown me away, especially their latest album. I’d like to do a review of that, so look forward to that. And of course there will likely be some new Gundam model reviews (and maybe some non-gundam models as well). Heck, I also might do some posts about my other addiction/pastime; World of Warcraft. There’s always some good stories to be told playing that game.

So I’m back, and I’m taking this blog in a new direction…sort of.

3 thoughts on “Things Change

  1. well I pretty much share your frustration about the whole Maeda thing. But as some people have mentioned, its not her fault. The wotas chose her. So since its working for them sales wise then I guess there very lil’ hope of any changes on the singles. Which really sucks!

    But as I always say Stage songs >>>>> Singles

    that’s why I also understand the thing about the audio albums. But since you said even the stages don’t appeal to you anymore then that’s kinda sad.

  2. Hey Aigon, I don’t think I’ve ever commented on one of your blog before, but I read it once in a while and have it bookmarked. I have some comments for this one, though.

    I still follow AKB48 though only as much as I do any other group. They aren’t my center focus at all anymore and haven’t been for a while. I agree with a lot of what you said. Ironically, I’ve come to like Atsuko a lot more than I did before, but I am still annoyed that that she’s the center of everything and looks like she could care less about it a lot of the time. Their stuff is indeed starting to sound very alike. If I’m not paying too much attention I wouldn’t know if I was listening to Namida Surprise or 10nen sakura. Also, their unwillingness to change may keep the wota there, but it sure is pissing me off.😛 I get so steamed when I think that other members who DESERVE to front a single, such as Haruka Katayama and Yuka Masuda have never been given the chance. Hell, even if they didn’t deserve it, variety would be really nice. If they want to just keep using the same 20 girls, why hire 50+?

    And yeah, how nice, if we want to buy a DVD we have no choice but to go through an expensive ass deputy service now. Plus, the DVD’s are BEYOND overpriced. I could buy two H!P concerts and have some change left before I dropped 70 dollars for the neutered edition of an AKB concert. I saw some stage48 people buying the special edition of the upcoming NHK hall concert, and after deputy service and shipping it was coming up to over 200 dollars. Yuck!

    Though I have to admit I disagree on SKE48, at least in the case of Team S. Don’t worry, I won’t pull a Nizmo on you.😛 After seeing a filming of their 2nd stage, I was quite impressed. They have a lot of talent in there, and they are coming out with a single of their own soon. But yeah, I’d like Jurina to stay in her own group, though I honestly like her somewhat.

    I like this idea of just dumping everything but Team B, so long as Rie and Sae can be transferred.🙂

    Sorry to hear that you’re pretty much out of the AKB48 front, but I can understand. I’m also more into H!P nowadays, especially after seeing Morning Musume at Anime Expo. They put on an awesome show! I also enjoy your anime and Gunpla entries. I’m not much of a builder, but I did pick up a 1/60 Exia at AX. I’m currently trying to decide if I wanna just build it or go all out and detail it and stuff. I don’t even know where to start on that, but I really want it to look awesome. Anyway, I’ll keep reading! Later.

  3. I understand what you mean, the only song I liked from AKB48 is Skirt, Hirai for some reason, it got stuck in my head.

    But for me, it started with Morning Musume, I think nowadays I’m more into K-Pop than J-Pop even though it’s the first Asian Pop I got into in 2006. K-Pop a year later.

    I think K-Pop is better than J-Pop.

Leave a Reply

