My thoughts on the latest AKB48 “issue”

Before I finish up my post on the latest episode of Gundam 00 (sorry for the long wait for that, been busy…) I wanted to post one something related to the new AKB48 single release, 10 Nen Zakura.

So, the list of selected members was recently revealed, and a good portion (or so it seems to me) of the AKB48 fandom over at Stage48 is in an uproar about it.

Why you ask?

Well its simple, Akimoto Sayaka was not one of the chosen members.

Yeah, that’s it…really.

Now, it is a bit odd though. Sayaka has been in every single since Aitakatta except for Yuuhi wo Miteiruka, so it is strange that she wasn’t selected for this new single. Now, I’m a huge fan of Sayaka. I think she’s awesome. And alot of other people think so to. So people were shocked and agry that she wasn’t selected. Some were so angry that they’ve decided to practically boycott this new single.

My response:

Eh…there’s always the next single.

I mean, its not like its the first single she hasn’t been in. But people seem to be treating it like this is some earth shattering event and that its an utter travesty that she wasn’t selected for this 1 single.

To those people, I say this: Shut up already.

What about all those members who have NEVER been chosen for a single (aside from BINGO, which every member at the time was in)? Hell, over half of Team B have never been chosen to be in a single, and god knows they deserve it. And there are plenty of talented members of both Teams A and K who have not been chosen for singles. What about them?

So one member who has been in every single recently is not chosen for the latest one. Big whoop. My advice. Shut up and get over it.

So thats my rant for the day. Thanks for bearing with me.


Oh, and before I sign off, I’d like to say congratulations to Team B. They owned the Shibuya-AX concert. Every sing from B3 excluding 1 made it into this 100 song concert, and the B3 opening song, Shonichi, was the #1 song of the concert (in that it was voted #1 by the fans). So congrats to Team B, you guys rock, and its about time people started to take notice.

2 thoughts on “My thoughts on the latest AKB48 “issue”

  1. I totally agree about the Sayaka issue. But, I guess if my favorite girl was suddenly not popular, I’d be a bit angry, too.

    And Mermaid totally should have been in the concert… Then Team B would be 16/16.

  2. “What about all those members who have NEVER been chosen for a single.”

    damn, every time there’s a new single, I’m always reminded about those girls who deserve so much more.

Leave a Reply

