AKB48 Himawari-Gumi Stage 1 DVD

At long last, I finally got my copy of the Himawari 1 DVD. I can safely say that it was worth the wait.

First up will be my review of of Team 1 version of the stage. But first, for those new to the stage, here is a list of all the songs:

01. Dreamin’ girls
02. RUN RUN RUN
03. Mirai no kajitsu
04. Viva! Hurricane
05. Idol nante yobanaide
06. Boku to Juliet to Jet Coaster
07. HIGURASHI NO KOI
08. Itoshisa no defense
09. Himawari
10. Takeuchi senpai
11. Sonna konna wake de
12. Deja Vu
13. Yuuhi wo miteiru ka?
14. Lay down
15. BINGO!
16. Boku no taiyou

So on to the review. Right way, even before the first song was done, I knew this was gonna be one hell of a show, and I was right. Team 1 is sort of the “All-Star” team of the 2 Himawari teams. Pretty much all of AKB48’s top members were placed in this team, and by top members, I refer to the ones who usually get put into the groups singles and are generally the girls you see the most of. This means that Team 1 is great all around.

In the first few songs, there were a few specific members who I felt stood out among the rest in regards to the others. To be specific, Oshima Yuko, Sato Natsuki and Kasai Tomomi were the ones I felt really stood out in the first portion of the show. Of course, it helped that the camera was constantly focusing on them, but they still looked and performed fantastically, especially Natsuki. She looked aboslutely fantastic in this stage, and she really performed well. Its such a shame that she didn’t get a whole lot of solo lines, as she really deserved to.

There was one thing that irked me though, and that was how much the camera focused on Maeda Atsuko. It was like every few seconds she was the center of attention. I swear almost every time she came on camera it was a closeup, and they came all to frequently. I myself am not a fan of Acchan, as she really just doesn’t appeal to me as the other girls do. I hope no one gets mad at me for saying this, but she really comes off as…kinda fake on stage. The other girls show genuine enthusiasm during their performances, but something about Acchan just makes it seem like she’s faking enthusiasm, which I just don’t like.

In regards to the songs, I found myself liking Boku to Juliet to Jet Coaster and Lay Down the most, though each song is truly awesome. Boku was especially awesome for me as it is just a fun song to listen to, and really has a certain energy to it that really appealed to me. Lay Down is also an awesome song, and the performance for it is well…interesting to say the least. You really have to see it for yourself, as I couldn’t do it justice just describing it for you.

All in all, Team 1 kicks a whole lot of ass, plain and simple. Of course, this is to be expected from the top members of AKB48.

I’m hoping to have a review done for Team 2 by at least tomorrow. Also expect a review of episode 6 of Macross Frontier tomorrow as well.

One thought on “AKB48 Himawari-Gumi Stage 1 DVD

Leave a Reply

